Newsletter

Healthy food for our children: 10 to 12 years old

Part 4

 

Between 10 and 12 years old comes puberty. This is an age when nutritional needs are particularly high.
From that age, the recommended average intake even exceeds the needs of an adult woman !!


During this period, your big child will put on 5 kilos per year and grow 5 to 10 cm per year.

The recommended intakes for a child aged 10 to 12 are as follows: (everything obviously depends on their level of physical activity, their rate of growth, etc.):

 

For comparison: the average intake of an adult is 2000 Kcal for a woman and 2500 kcal for a man .

 

What are the essential nutrients for my child?

According to a national INCA 2 survey, children too often lack vitamin C and D and zinc.


- The iron:  is a constituent of red blood cells and each loss of blood causes loss of iron. Girls are therefore particularly affected when they have their period. Ideally, favor sources of animal origin: meat, seafood and offal. Children who refuse to eat meat are at risk of lacking iron. Vegetable iron must come as a supplement and it is found in pulses, whole grains and fruits. A lack of zinc is often associated with an iron deficiency since these 2 trace elements have the same food sources.

- Calcium: From the age of 10, it is an intense period of bone growth, so calcium is essential for your child. the recommended intake is 1000 to 1200 mg per day. To reach these figures it is important to increase the portion of dairy products: yogurt or cheese. With age, your child tends to give up dairy products. For calcium to be properly assimilated there must be enough vitamin D. You will find this vitamin thanks to the sun but also at the food level: in oily fish: herring, mackerel, sardines then in eggs also cheeses and fortified dairy products. If you live in a weakly sunny region, it is advisable to take a drug supplementation prescribed by your doctor (especially in winter).

- Magnesium: It contributes to the proper functioning of the nervous system and muscles . It is found in seafood, pulses, whole grains and fruits.

- Vitamin C: This vitamin contributes to the immune system. It is found in fruits and vegetables. If your child tends to give up vegetables, bet on fruits that they like a lot more. Put them in your preparation. For example, make chicken aiguillettes with blood orange (see recipe) or duck aiguillettes with pear.

So be careful with these 4 trace elements which are essential for your child . Do not hesitate to consult your doctor if you have any doubts so that he may prescribe a blood test for your child.

It's a pretty difficult age: your teenager needs to be assertive and different from you. Continue to make him respect the good family benchmarks: balanced meals and a healthy lifestyle.
Above all, persevere with the schedules: your child should not be past midnight and should sleep at least 8 hours a day.
Maintain family meals too and once a week let your teenager create the menu… Even if he chooses 4 cheese pizza don't worry about balancing it doesn't happen overnight.
Young people as they grow older prefer to have lunch outside with their friends. If they go out for
  lunch, rebalance with the evening. At fast food, they can choose a burger with fries served with a salad. Do not hesitate during picnics to make them balanced sandwiches: limit the mayonnaise, add raw vegetables (cucumbers, salads), and garnish with ham, chicken, tuna or salmon. In addition, give him a milk: yogurt or cheese and a piece of fruit with water. If you can have one or two of your child's friends once a week to have a healthy meal and why not turn with the parents? 

If you have a daughter ... Watch out for dieting at home . Indeed, the fashion is thinness and some girls sometimes let themselves be trapped by this famous fashion phenomenon and they try to erase their roundness with the help of dietary restrictions. If your child occasionally eliminates some treats, don't be alarmed. However, you have to worry when your child removes a category (or even several categories) of food that is essential for balance such as starches, dairy products, fats. Any visible and rapid weight loss is not to neglect. If you cannot manage this problem, do not hesitate to call in a health professional (dietitian, psychologist, etc.).
Should you skip the snack of your 10 to 12 year old child?

Above all, do not think that the snack is a snack. Do not make him skip this meal just because he will eat better for dinner. Now is the time to give him more milk (yogurt or cheese) and some fruit. If your child tends to get out of control and go for cakes and sweets, talk to them to find out why. Is he bored? should he do an extra-curricular activity? or is he worried about something? Try to speak with him to understand.

Recipe:

Blood orange chicken strips .


Ingredients for 2 person (s):
- 300 g of chicken strips
  - 2 blood oranges
  - Salt, peppercorns


Preperation :
  - In a dry non-stick pan, brown the chicken aiguillettes over high heat on both sides.
Squeeze the oranges.
-Lower the heat and add the juice to the pan. Reduce the sauce to a small broth.
- Adjust the seasoning and serve immediately.
- Easy and light recipe ... and Bon Appétit! :-)

To summarize, according to the National Health Nutrition Program (PNNS), your child should have:
 
Dairy products (milk, yogurt, cheese): 4 servings per day
Vegetables : at will - 400 g minimum per day
Fruits: 3 servings
Starchy foods (bread, pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes): at each meal a sufficient quantity according to physical activity and growth
Proteins (meat, fish, eggs): once a day, i.e. 100 g
Fat (butter, oil, cream, mayonnaise, etc.): moderate and varied amount
Sweet products (chocolate, cookies, ice cream, etc.): limited quantity
Drinks: minimum 1.5 l per day - if possible use water


  In the next newsletters, we will see the feeding of your teenager and an adult. Pampering your child starts with his food first, then pamper him every day thanks to his food.

Newsletter

Une alimentation saine pour nos enfants: de 10 à 12 ans

Partie 4

 

Entre 10 et 12 ans arrive la puberté. C’est un âge où les besoins nutritionnels sont particulièrement élevés.
A partir de cet âge-là, l’apport moyen recommandé dépasse même les besoins d’une femme adulte!!


Pendant cette période, votre grand enfant grossira de 5 kilos par an et grandira de 5 à 10 cm par an.

Les apports conseillés pour un enfant de 10 à 12 ans sont les suivants: ( tout dépend bien évidemment de leur niveau d’activité physique, leur rythme de croissance, …) :

 

A titre de comparaison: l’apport moyen d’un adulte est de 2000 Kcal pour une femme et 2500 kcal pour un homme.

 

Quels sont les nutriments essentiels pour mon enfant?

Selon une enquête nationale INCA 2, les enfants manquent trop souvent de la vitamine C et D et de zinc.


- Le fer:  est un constituant des globules rouges et chaque perte de sang occasionne une perte de fer. Les filles sont donc particulièrement touchées lorsqu’elles ont leurs règles. Idéalement privilégiez les sources d’origine animale: viandes, fruits de mer et abat. Les enfants qui refusent de consommer de la viande risquent de manquer de fer. Le fer végétal doit venir en complément et celui-ci se trouve dans les légumes secs, les céréales complètes et les fruits. Un manque de zinc est souvent associé à un déficit en fer étant donné que ces 2 oligo-éléments ont les mêmes sources alimentaires.

- Le calcium: A partir de 10 ans, c’est une période intense de croissance osseuse le calcium est donc primordiale pour votre enfant. l’apport conseillé est de 1000 à 1200 mg par jour. Pour atteindre ces chiffres il est important d’augmenter la portion de laitages: yaourt ou fromage. Avec l’âge, votre enfant a tendance à délaisser les laitages. Pour que le calcium soit bien assimilé il faut qu’il y ait suffisamment de vitamine D. Vous trouverez cette vitamine grâce au soleil mais aussi au niveau alimentaire: dans les poissons gras: harengs, maquereau, sardine puis dans les oeufs aussi les fromages et les laitages enrichis. Si vous vivez dans une région faiblement ensoleillé, il est conseillé de prendre une supplémentation médicamenteuse prescrit par votre médecin (notamment en hiver).

- Le magnésium: Il contribue au bon fonctionnement du système nerveux et des muscles. On en trouve dans les fruits de mer, les légumes secs, les céréales complètes et les fruits.

- La vitamine C: Cette vitamine contribue aux défenses immunitaires. On la retrouve dans les fruits et les légumes. Si votre enfant a tendance à délaisser les légumes misez sur les fruits qu’ils apprécient beaucoup plus. Mettez-les dans votre préparation. Par exemple faites des aiguillettes de poulet à l’orange sanguine (voir recette) ou aiguillettes de canard à la poire.

Donc soyez vigilants à ces 4 oligo-éléments qui sont essentiels pour votre enfant. N’hésitez pas à consulter votre médecin si vous avez un doute pour qu’il vous prescrive une prise de sang à faire à votre enfant.

C’est un âge assez difficile: votre adolescent a besoin de s’affirmer et de se différencier de vous. Continuez à lui faire respecter les bons repères familiaux: les repas équilibrés et la bonne hygiène de vie.
Persévérez surtout sur les horaires: votre enfant ne doit pas dépasser minuit et doit dormir minimum 8 heures par jour.
Maintenez des repas familiaux aussi et une fois dans la semaine, laissez votre adolescent créer le menu… Même s’il choisit pizza aux 4 fromages ne vous en faites pas l’équilibre ne se fait pas qu’en un jour.
Les jeunes en grandissant préfèrent déjeuner dehors avec leurs copains. S’ils sortent pour  le déjeuner, rééquilibrez avec le soir. Au fast food, ils peuvent choisir un hamburger avec frites servi avec une salade. N’hésitez pas lors des pique-niques à leur faire des sandwichs équilibrés: limitez la mayonnaise, ajoutez des crudités (concombres, salades), et garnissez de jambon poulet, thon ou saumon. En complément, donnez lui un laitage: yaourt ou fromage et un fruit avec de l’eau. Si vous pouvez recevez une fois par semaine un ou deux amis de votre enfant pour qu’ils aient un repas sain et pourquoi ne pas tourner avec les parents?  

Si vous avez une fille… Gare aux régime chez elle. En effet, le mode est à la minceur et certaines filles se laissent parfois piéger par ce fameux phénomène de mode et elles essaient d’effacer leur rondeur à l’aide de restrictions alimentaires. Si votre enfant de temps en temps élimine quelque friandes, ne vous alarmez pas. Cependant, il faut s’inquiéter lorsque votre enfant supprime une catégorie (ou même plusieurs catégories) d’aliments qui est indispensable à l’équilibre comme les féculents, les laitages, les matières grasses..Tout amaigrissement visible et rapide n’est pas à négliger. Si vous n’arrivez pas à gérer ce problème, n’hésitez pas à faire intervenir un professionnel de santé (diététicien, psychologue,…).
Faut-il sauter le goûter de votre enfant de 10 à 12 ans ?

Ne surtout pas penser que le goûter est un grignotage. Ne lui faites pas sauter ce repas sous-prétexte qu’il mangera mieux au diner. C’est le moment de lui donner encore un laitage (yaourt ou fromage) et un fruit. Si votre enfant a tendance à ne pas contrôler ses prises alimentaires et à se jeter sur les gâteaux et confiseries, discutez avec lui pour comprendre pourquoi. Est-ce qu’il s’ennuie? devrait-il faire une activité extra scolaire? ou est-il préoccupé par quelque chose? Essayez de parler avec lui pour comprendre.

Recette:

Aiguillettes de poulet à l'orange sanguin.


Ingrédients pour 2 personne(s) :
- 300 g d'aiguillettes de poulet
 - 2 oranges sanguines
 - Sel, poivre en grains


Préparation :
 - Dans une poêle à revêtement antiadhésif à sec, faire dorer les aiguillettes de poulet à feu vif sur les 2 faces.
Presser les oranges.
-Baisser le feu et ajouter le jus dans la poêle. Laisser réduire la sauce à petits bouillon.
- Rectifier l'assaisonnement et servir aussitôt.
- Recette facile et light ... et Bon Appétit ! :-)

Pour résumer, selon le Programme National Nutrition Santé (PNNS), votre enfant devra avoir:  
Produits laitages (lait, yaourt, fromage): 4 portions par jour
Légumes : à volonté - 400 g minimum par jour
Fruits: 3 portions
Féculents (pain, pâtes, riz, pommes de terre, légumineuses) : à chaque repas une quantité suffisante selon son activité physique et sa croissance
Protéines (viandes, poissons, oeufs): 1 fois par jour soit 100 g
Matières grasses (beurre, huile, crème, mayonnaise, …): quantité modérée et variée
Produits sucrés (chocolat, biscuits, glaces…): quantité limitée
Boissons: minimum 1,5 l par jour - si possible privilégier de l’eau


  Dans les prochaines newsletters, nous verrons l’alimentation de votre adolescent et d’un adulte. Chouchouter votre enfant commence d’abord par son alimentation alors bichonnez-le au quotidien grâce à son alimentation.